Required Training (After Hire)


No special training is required to apply. All recruits will be enrolled in the Northern Dakota Training Academy curriculum.  The Northern Dakota Training Academy (NDTA) is a consortium, established in 2016, consisting of the Inver Grove Heights, Hastings, Eagan, Rosemount, and Mendota Heights Fire Departments.  The NDTA provides initial firefighter training for all new-hire firefighters of the member departments.  The NDTA curriculum consists of the following courses:

  • Firefighter I (120 hours) 
  • Firefighter II (40 hours) 
  • Hazardous Materials Operations (26 hours)
In addition, new hires will be trained and certified to a minimum of Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) level as specified by the Minnesota Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board.

All recruits will also be trained and certified to a minimum of Fire Apparatus Operator III.

The department pays for all required firefighter training and equipment.

Northern Dakota Training Academy Class of 2016

NDC Training Class 2016